Skip To Main Content

Shout Out to the School Board Members Dedicated to Education

January Is School Board Recognition Month!

In celebration of School Board Recognition Month this January, as proclaimed by Gov. Inslee, we honor the dedicated school board members at South Kitsap School District. Their commitment embodies the principles of the SK Way, prioritizing respect, trust, and strong relationships within our community. A heartfelt thank you to Jeff Wilson, Brian Pickard, Kate Espy, Megan Higgins, and Jay Villars! Their work is a testament to their dedication to high-quality public education and the well-being of our youth.

School board members often face complex decisions and sift through extensive information, all while developing a future-focused vision for the district. These elected community members oversee an annual district budget of $175 million, with more than 9,100 students, and 1,500 employees. Their collaborative efforts with the school district staff are a shining example of the SK Way in action. They serve as a crucial link between the local community and the school district, helping to realize our collective aspirations for all students.

For more information on the South Kitsap School District Board of Directors, please visit

Tim Winter, Superintendent, South Kitsap School District

Originally Posted on Kitsap Sun: Letter to the editor from Tim Winter, South Kitsap School District

  • SKSD
  • School Board