Skip To Main Content

Washington State Standards

From the State of Washington OSPI (Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction) home page:

The Washington State K-12 Learning Standards fully incorporated the Common Core State Standards.  "Common Core is a real-world approach to learning and teaching. Developed by education experts from 45 states, these K-12 learning standards go deeper into key concepts in math and English language arts. The standards require a practical, real-life application of knowledge that prepares Washington students for success in college, work and life."

Washington State K-12 Learning Standards provide:

  • Consistent learning expectations for all students.
  • Clear standards that focus on understanding over memorization.
  • Emphasis on the critical topics students need to succeed after high school.
  • Faster testing results with a better, more focused online assessment system. "

Please visit the OSPI home page for more information.

Click the grade level links below to access Parents' Guide to Student Success based on the Washington State K-12 Learning Standards.  Each guide will provide an overview of what your child will learn by the end of the school year in their grade level. 

 Kindergarten 1st Grade 2nd Grade
 3rd Grade 4th Grade 5th Grade
 6th Grade 7th Grade 8th Grade
 9th Grade  10th Grade  11th Grade
 12th Grade    


Please click here to access Mathematics-specific CCSS flyers K-8, created by the consortium of Washington State Educational Service Districts.

Return to this page to stay current on additional Washington State K-12 Learning Standards information and resources.